Read 503 times

Leaving before your resignation end date
« on: April 24, 2019, 11:55:30 am »
Does anyone know what happens when you need to leave before your resignation end date (i.e by a month, so 30 days instead of 60) and only notify them on the last minute of this change?

• Datasapien
  • Super Waygook

• February 04, 2012, 09:36:25 pm
    • Chungcheongbuk-do
    more
Re: Leaving before your resignation end date
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2019, 12:15:30 pm »
I can't remember exactly, but pretty sure my EPIK contract (assuming you're EPIK?) says something along the lines of that if you leave a contract early they will notify immigration, perhaps affecting your ability to work  / stay in SK in the future. I've no first hand experience though so please take this with a pinch of salt. I'd reckon your contract will be the best place to look for your answer, but hopefully someone else can chime in with better advice.
"A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man." - Jebediah Springfield.

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2019, 12:40:47 pm »
it depends on what you want to do and the reasoning. 

(some of the following will vary from contract to contract)
Are you resigning and then leaving Korea for good?  If you are under the six month mark on your first contract, then you'll have to pay back either the airfare or part of the renewal fee if you're onto your second or third, or if you took a load of paid vacation then it'll be prorated for the time you were here for this contract. 

I've always thought that as long as you've completed the six month mark, and if you are really nice, then you work the notice period but as you have no monies to pay back you can just go without feeling guilty.

• elsbethm
  • Veteran

• September 29, 2016, 09:26:54 pm
    • gangwondo
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2019, 03:27:23 pm »
I think we need a little more info on what you're planning to do after etc or more specifics on what info you're looking for.