Read 1335 times

I do nothing
« on: April 23, 2019, 12:46:09 pm »
Hi,

Before anyone says, "You should talk about this with your co-teacher," I just want to let you know I have. And nothing.

Like the title says, I do nothing. With one of my teachers, I just stand in the class. When prompted, students listen and repeat after me, like a human tape recorder. I want to help. I try to help. But she insists, "It's okay." For some, this might be a blessing, but I want to work. I want to teach. I'm not used to working in a job where I do nothing.

I don't usually post, but I don't know anyone who's ever been in this situation. Anyone have advice when dealing with this? Is this normal? It's my first time teaching in a public school.

• Aristocrat
  • Hero of Waygookistan

• November 10, 2014, 01:04:27 pm
Re: I do nothing
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2019, 01:13:26 pm »
Ah yes, this brings back memories and no, you aren't alone, it's happened to many of us; you sit in the corner while your CT rattles on in Korean. Maybe you'll annotate a script or two, but that's it.

There are various reasons why you've found yourself in this predicament and I'll try to explore the most common:

You CT doesn't want you there

Your CT may think of your presence as an insult to his/her competence, they process of becoming a teacher, particularly a HR teacher, is particularly difficult (more for the degree of mindless memorizing required than genuine ability) and it's a long journey. Co-teaching is also never taught or done. You being there is basically telling him/her that they can't do their job by themselves, it's quite a lose of face. To compensate, they'll sideline you as much as possible and let everyone from the students to the most remote tribes in the Amazon know that he/she is your superior.