Read 327 times

Teaching 1st and 2nd grade English (Illegal?)
« on: February 14, 2019, 04:41:57 pm »
I'm an F6 teacher at a private elementary school. According to the news last year, it became illegal for schools to teach English classes to first and second graders. Does this apply to private schools (not hagwon or after school, but schools that run like EPIK, but parents pay to send their students there) as well?

Me and the other foreign teacher have expressed concern over this, since if caught, it could affect us. However, the school insists that other (private?) schools are doing it, and if caught, all blame will fall to the principal and we would be protected. I'm pretty sure they know they're not supposed to do it, since they don't want to outright call the classes English classes, but want us to come up with a name that kind of conceals we are teaching English.

It's a pretty tough decision as they want us to let them know if we will stay at the school and teach the classes, or leave because we don't feel comfortable doing it. The job pay is standard and I really don't want to leave, and although I probably could find another job, my wife and I still need some type of consistent income.

Would love to hear some advice and/or experiences from others in similar situations at private schools or other public schools.

• SanderB
  • Super Waygook

• June 02, 2018, 06:25:54 pm
    • Gouda cheese Be Best cheese
Re: Teaching 1st and 2nd grade English (Illegal?)
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019, 03:56:49 am »
No problem.