Read 2082 times

Man I'm getting offered 2.1 only from a well known chain who want me to do the intensive 9.30am to 6pm kindy job instead of the 1pm to 9pm.  90 minute classes, eat lunch with them, telephone calling, elementary in the afternoons also.  No way I'd do that.  2.3 would be the absolute minimum for so much work.  I've worked for them before in 2003 in a different city and would fall asleep as soon as I got home I'd be so tired.

I have a few years experience and a TEFL.  I may be not already in country but 2.1?

Another really well known chain whose name has something in common with the UK Criminal Investigation Department if you get my drift, want two 3 hour essay classes in the mornings plus elementary 40 minute classes in the afternoons and only 2.1 with pension and 2.2 WITHOUT pension.

Is it not illegal not to offer pension?  Or has that changed?

I'm putting afternoon job only, no kindy in my emails and profile from now on.  If it has to be Busan instead of Seoul, so be it.

It's a shame as I would and have actually given my all to this type of job, I have taught essay classes, debate, classes and I know how much you need to put in and what you need to put in and am very willing to do so.  I would literally be an asset both in experience and in getting my head down and properly doing my job.

When I last worked in SK I was on 2.3 for 1pm to 9pm type 50 minute class hakwan jobs and 2.6 for the 3 hour, foreign curriculum, essay and debate type positions.

Have salaries become lower or are they just playing games?  I always thought the second institute I referred to paid rather well.

Ah well, I won't do that sort of intensive work for that pay  which is a shame as I actually ENJOY it and would give my all, so I'll end up doing a 1pm to 9pm job instead, 50 minute classes, do 3 pages of the book, listen and repeat on the CD and e-board, couple of games, set homework, give out some stickers and ABC chocco and happy days.