Read 17721 times

• Maclean
  • Veteran

• July 04, 2017, 10:35:58 am
    • Korea
Epik teachers forbidden from owning pets.
« on: September 21, 2017, 12:29:21 pm »
Surely this is a joke. I'm filling out my Epik application for next year and I have to go through a list of things I must agree to. Rule #7 states "I understand that as an Epik teacher I am not allowed to have any pets while residing in Korea." Are they serious? Surely it can't be legal to put a restriction like that on a person working here legally. So someone working at Gepik whose school goes over to Epik has to get rid of their dog or cat?

If I adopt a stray cat I can be fired?

WTF?

« Last Edit: September 21, 2017, 12:31:28 pm by Maclean »

• jddavis7
  • Super Waygook

• November 02, 2016, 12:35:17 am
    • Miryang-si, Gyeongsangnam-do
Re: Epik teachers forbidden from owning pets.
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2017, 12:31:55 pm »
I can understand the logic behind it. It seems that teachers in the past have gotten pets and abandoned them after their contract ended. Honestly, this seems easy enough to hide from your school. And I can see the school not minding if you've been here multiple years.

• Sikered
  • Waygookin

• March 01, 2017, 08:20:34 am
    • Busan South Korea
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2017, 12:35:08 pm »
I totally get why we're told not to have them. A lot of people dont deal with the hassle of finding out how to get them home when their contract ends, they may not take the proper care of the pets, They leave the pets in the APT (not to mention the damage pets can do to your apartment which the school pays for). If you're only going to do a year why would you need/want a pet anyway?

That said, I've known plenty of EPIK teachers that have pets. Just if you're wanting to travel good luck bringing them with you or finding someone to care for them while youre gone.

• Maclean
  • Veteran

• Korea
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2017, 12:35:21 pm »