Read 778 times

• girlf
  • Adventurer

• July 19, 2016, 01:05:45 pm
tax question
« on: August 29, 2017, 12:52:35 pm »
So i've been teaching on an E2 for 3 years.  Started my 4th year yesterday.  The last year, my school did not deduct my money for taxes.  I brought it up today and the administrator had no idea.  Also, my ex coworker finished up her 3rd year and when it was time to get her severance, they had her go make another bank account and they wouldn't transfer that money into her regular account.  That was kinda fishy.  Help me understand all this.  I don't want to be liable for their mistake.

Re: tax question
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2017, 01:33:05 pm »
Was the bank account with the same bank, or a different banking institution?
Some schools put the severance money into a specific kind of account at the bank. It accrues interest for them I believe. Basically, they have to transfer it into another account in the same bank.
Found this awhile back:

What recently happened is for whatever reason (I don't know the specifics) schools can now choose to either hold your severance themselves (as they have been doing) or they can put it in some sort of NH bank account that is designed for it. There have been some other threads about it but  I can't find it right now.

The thing is, they can't do it without your permission. Although some schools have appeared to have had the NSET's CT sign it or whatever, and/or just told the NSET to sign it and not given that much explanation.

The annoying thing is that is once they put it in this account, you need an account with NH to get it back (as far as I know). and they can't just send it to any account you want.