Read 5466 times

New Job In China
« on: June 08, 2017, 06:33:03 am »
Two weeks ago I had an online interview for a job teaching EFL at a local public
school in Shenzhen, China. About 2 days after the interview they accepted me for a
contract offer. I had 7 days to decide if I would take it or not, and so I did.  I accepted the contract offer to teach in Shenzhen.

I sent them the signed page of the contract so they can get going with the visa processing.
I was informed that the visa process will take 30 to 50 days. This means I will get the visa done anytime between the end of June or early to mid-July. My contract starts on August 28th.

I have been in Canada for 7 months since I left South Korea. I tried to get back into South Korea but China accepted me very quickly. I am a teacher by profession. I applied to more than 12 different school boards in Canada. Only one of them called me up for an interview from as early as March and April. I planned for the interview to be in August because I was faced with uncertainty concerning my health and the treatment I needed. But now that I got radiotherapy treatment, I will be finished with this treatment by June 16th. Because of that, I told that school in Northern Ontario, Canada that I will be available for an interview in late June. Plus another school board in Ontario, Canada called me up today for an interview. However I told them that I will not be available for the June 15th date because I have to do my radiotherapy treatment that day, not to mention the location of that place for the interview is a 6-hour drive away.

But why would I still go for an interview for a Canadian school board right now after I accepted an offer for a new job in China? Yes, I know I have to wait for a while until the visa process is done but should I still go for that interview here in Canada?