Read 1690 times

• NeonSeoul
  • Explorer

• October 19, 2016, 01:14:55 am
    • United States
New To TaLK
« on: October 23, 2016, 11:16:13 pm »
I'm applying for the TaLK program for the first time this month and since I'm completely new to this program, I was wondering if anyone here on this forum can give me any tips on this program?

I've prior experience teaching in Korea under an F6 visa and when I was also volunteering in the US Army. So that aspect of dealing with the schools etc, I have experience with.

I just wanted to know if anyone has had experience with TaLK and what should I be prepared for as far as the processing and the employment process. Any other general new teacher advice and tips would be helpful too since, I haven't been active in the English Teacher field in Korea since 2008. Thanks in advance everyone!  ;D

• getwithgoddard
  • Explorer

• May 26, 2016, 01:42:07 pm
    • Gangwon-Do, Goseon-Gun, South Korea
Re: New To TaLK
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2016, 09:49:22 am »
Um in terms of processing time from time of application to acceptance the timeline is anywhere from 1-2 months. In terms of teaching the orientation for TaLK is very long and very informative so you should be able to learn many new tips for teaching there. Also, just wondering why such a long break from teaching in Korea? Also, are you of Korean heritage?

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2016, 09:58:04 am »
I thought TaLK was dead.

• getwithgoddard
  • Explorer

• May 26, 2016, 01:42:07 pm
    • Gangwon-Do, Goseon-Gun, South Korea
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2016, 10:14:00 am »
I thought TaLK was dead.
still alive lol

• Trysy_G
  • Explorer

• April 10, 2016, 10:51:06 pm
    • Gangwan-do
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2016, 01:10:25 pm »
I thought TaLK was dead.