December 15, 2018, 07:36:00 PM

Author Topic: Pension not being paid--E2 visa  (Read 6173 times)

Offline calliesaurus

• Waygookin
Pension not being paid--E2 visa
« on: September 04, 2015, 11:36:29 AM »
This is my first year teaching in Korea. My contract doesn't say anything about pension, and when I asked my head teacher about this she said that the school does not pay into pension--but after researching it seems like the school would have to? It is not a Korean school, so I don't know if they are exempt in any way. They also do not provide healthcare, but the contract says they will reimburse medical emergencies--not general healthcare visits though.

I also do not have taxes taken out of my paycheck--which is given in cash. The contract said that the first two years teaching, taxes are not required. And I was told I'm an independent contractor when I asked about health insurance, but the contract clearly states that I am an employee and not allowed to teach anywhere else, tutor, etc. So, am I getting screwed?

Offline jamonamagnet

• Expert Waygook
  • Don't put jam on a magnet.
Re: Pension not being paid--E2 visa
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2015, 01:28:38 PM »
What is your home country? (this is important for matters such as tax and pension)

Are you working in public school or hagwon?  (I can guess, but this also affects what the answer is going to be).

Are you currently in possession of your passport?  (Not a strange question).

Offline calliesaurus

• Waygookin
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2015, 02:39:32 PM »
Home country: USA

School: It's neither. It's a foreign private high school.

Passport: Yup. Haven't been to immigration yet to get my ARC.

Thank you!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2015, 03:10:06 PM by calliesaurus »

Offline Chester Jim

• Expert Waygook
  • Getter Done
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2015, 01:59:18 PM »