November 13, 2018, 01:30:33 AM

Author Topic: Terrible Coteaching Style  (Read 3306 times)

Offline englishee teacher

• Waygookin
Terrible Coteaching Style
« on: March 02, 2011, 12:31:25 PM »
So I've been here for almost two years. I have three weeks left on my contract (I was a late replacement for someone who pulled a runner a week into their contract). I have been teaching elementary school solo for those two years, with the exception of one class*. That class I had to coteach with the homeroom teacher, who was also the head teacher, and has some sort of high position within the POE's English program. She's also a close friend of my coteacher (administrative purposes only) at my main school. I just got a message that she will be coteaching with me for all of my classes, grades 3-6.

My problem is this: I hate coteaching with her. Not because I don't like her, because I'm fine with her, but because I think her teaching methods are horrible. She leads the lesson and then will occasionally put me on the spot by announcing to the class that I am going to give them a quiz, at which point I must immediately come up with three questions about the dialogue they've been watching. Every single class has exactly the same format. First, she plays the dialogs on the CD, maybe twice. Then she announces that I will be giving them a comprehension check quiz, X or O style. Then she skips to listen and repeat, has me write the sentences on the board, then has the students get into their groups, practice the dialog for an absurdly long time (5 minutes to practice two sentences??), and has them come up to the front with their group and role play the dialog, while I am forced to give them a score.
In the lessons with songs or chants, she will just play it a couple times, then a few kids will pick it up, but for the most part no one listens or cares.