February 16, 2019, 03:21:26 PM

Author Topic: Can IRISH Citizens get their pension refund?  (Read 5150 times)

Offline gingerged2000

• Explorer
Can IRISH Citizens get their pension refund?
« on: September 19, 2011, 04:28:55 PM »
I am a public school teacher.
I live and work in Ulsan, South Korea.
I am here on an E2 Visa, on my Irish passport as an Irish Citizen.
I'm trying to benefit from this pension ordeal.

So far I've been told I can get it back. Then I was told I can't get it back because Ireland (much the same as the U.K.) don't have a treaty with South Korea.
I was then told I can opt-out of paying it thus saving me some money at the end of the day. Then I was told that this is not possible for the school to do as it is highly illegal to do so.
As far as I know, the above Bold statements are unfortunately true.

BUT... my question is...

If I am ready to leave the country and I bring all my required documents to the National Pensions Office (Plane ticket out of the country, letter from employer stating the last day I will work, my Alien Registration Card... and fill out some application forms) can I have the funds paid into an American Bank Account (as US citizens CAN get their Pension Refund). The hitch is that it would be my reimbursement but my fiances account. (She is a US Citizen)

As you can see, I'm looking for any way at all to keep this money.

Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Offline michelleh

• Adventurer
Re: Can IRISH Citizens get their pension refund?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 07:13:05 PM »
I'm Irish too, and before last year, it was true that there was no way for us to claim pension, but now the system has changed a bit.