November 16, 2018, 03:46:26 PM

Ohmyzip.com From US To Korea - $7.50 (LB)
[SHOP US, SHIP KOREA] From $7.50 (1LB) + $1.74 per pound only! Use the Ohmyzip U.S. a tax-free state address as your shipping address at checkout. Sign up now to get a 10% off coupon on shipping. <Freight Forwarding Service / Courier Service>
http://www.ohmyzip.com/

Author Topic: Low Glycemic foods in Korea?  (Read 8375 times)

Offline lizard

• Adventurer
Low Glycemic foods in Korea?
« on: June 20, 2011, 09:21:59 AM »
I have to change my diet b/c of some health complications, and what I have been told to do is adopt a low glycemic diet. I'm new to understanding foods' glycemic index and was wondering if anyone knew what typical Korean foods have low GIs? I think Chamchi Jjigae does... And then I know I can eat things like Dhak Galbi and obviously no white rice. Any help would be appreciated.

Offline hankmcmasters

• Super Waygook
Re: Low Glycemic foods in Korea?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2011, 09:45:38 AM »
sorry to hear about your health complications.  i think it should be easy to guesstimate the GI of korean foods.  you just have to think about what the dishes are made of. 

take for instance, soon dubu jjigae 순두부찌개 which is tofu soup.  it has tofu,shellfish, sometimes a little bit of vegetables, and spicy broth.  i'm pretty sure all of those ingredients have a low GI, so the dish should too.  i'm sure this will be easier once you get used to thinking about the GI of foods.

definitely you can get nuts from just about any grocery, those have a pretty low GI.