March 19, 2019, 01:59:24 PM

Author Topic: EPIK orientation  (Read 642 times)

Online doradevi

• Waygookin
EPIK orientation
« on: February 25, 2019, 06:29:12 PM »
Hi guys,

Just wondering can EPIK kick you out for not attending two classes during orientation? Note: I'm a transferring teacher.

Online Piggydee

• The Legend
Re: EPIK orientation
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2019, 07:10:49 AM »
Word on the street is yes, if you don't attend all your assigned orientation classes than you probably will be given a talking to which might result in some disciplinary action.  I don't know but I've always just do what's expected of me.  However, if you've already done the orientation in the past they can work out a thing with you where you can have your orientation time reduced and come in later and skip all the intro stuff that's usually reserved for noobs to Korea. 

P.S. I'm probably going to get somebody on here that SHOUTS BS! I skipped out on the whole thing and had a friend put my name on the sign in list and I'm fine! And for that well I tip my hat off to you if you managed to keep your job with EPIK and get away with it.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2019, 07:12:34 AM by Piggydee »

Offline fishead

• Hero of Waygookistan
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2019, 07:17:04 AM »
 They want you to do the medical and open lesson. That means you can show up at least 3 days late

Offline lhelena

• Explorer
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2019, 07:30:22 AM »
The teacher I replaced last year transferred to Seoul and was actually at the same orientation I was. She showed up halfway through and was fine. I was in the spring orientation last year and that was when there were a ton of teachers being transitioned from GEPIK to EPIK but staying at their same schools. I think  a lot of them were allowed to come later due to either still needing to be at work, being on vacation or just because of the inconvenience. So I think as long as they know what's going on you should be fine. :)