March 24, 2019, 10:42:02 AM

Ohmyzip.com From US To Korea - $7.50 (LB)
[SHOP US, SHIP KOREA] From $7.50 (1LB) + $1.74 per pound only! Use the Ohmyzip U.S. a tax-free state address as your shipping address at checkout. Sign up now to get a 10% off coupon on shipping. <Freight Forwarding Service / Courier Service>
http://www.ohmyzip.com/

Author Topic: Not renewing = penalty black mark on English teachers  (Read 2792 times)

Offline persimmon14

• Waygookin
Not renewing = penalty black mark on English teachers
« on: January 02, 2019, 10:19:27 AM »
I have a question and wondering if anyone here knows or has experience in this.
I'm an EPIK teacher. I just found out from my school last week that they won't renew me
next year.  We completed the contract and they will help me with letter of recommendations
to another school that I find for next year.

But I spoke with an EPIK coordinator and they told me that if you don't renew a contract at the SAME
school (whether because they don't want to renew you or you choose not to renew), you are essentially
ending your ties with EPIK as well.  Meaning, if you wanted to apply to another school for March, you can't simply
be re-assigned or transferred to another school.  EPIK coordinator said you would have to re-apply to become
an EPIK teacher again and "IF" they accept you, you could be ready to teach in March 2020!

So that means if you don't renew a contract, you're basically OFF the team and can't work for a whole year.
The only way to work in March 2019 right away is to work for a NON-EPIK school, ie., a city-funded school that can do their own hiring.