March 23, 2019, 12:19:55 AM

Author Topic: Pet peeves with Recruiters  (Read 809 times)

Offline Sagi Keun

• Waygookin
Pet peeves with Recruiters
« on: December 14, 2018, 12:01:17 AM »
Recruiters are much nicer than they were ten years ago, I'll give them that. I mean they are more polite, they are even much more honest about the job conditions. They greet, they say please and thankyou.

But there are still things they do that drive me insane:

1. Not reading the resume. I have lost count of the amount of times recruiters ask again for information that is already clearly displayed on the front of the resume. Seriously, its obvious that all they ever do is glance at your photo, not even taking notice of your nationality, qualifications or age.

For example here is a standard communication with a recruiter:

Applicant: Dear Ace Number 1 recruiting, I am a Canadian teacher, 39 years old, with 5 years experience and can start in February. Please see my photograph attached.

Recruiter: Oh, you handsome. The school is interested. Tell me, what country you? when can you start? Did you teach before?

Applicant: uhhh (sigh)... I can start February, I have 5 years experience. I'm Canadian, you can see on the resume?

Recruiter:  Ok great! yes the school likes you. Wait...ummm. You're 39?? *cough*. Um sorry, so, I mean, you're 39? I see. Um actually I think the job has gone already.

Applicant: Yes, I already told you my age on the resume!

2. They never tell you if you didn't get the job. Invariably a recruiter says "I'll keep you updated!" but in fact they never do. So maybe you had a great interview and you think you got the job. You wait 3 days. Then 5 days. Then you finally call to find out what happened. "oh, sorry, they employed someone else, didn't you know?". It would have been incredibly convenient to my decision-making process to have known that. Basically if you need information from them, expect to hear crickets.