December 18, 2018, 07:24:12 PM

Author Topic: Is it risky to work at a newly opened hagwon?  (Read 499 times)

Offline shabbiz98

• Newgookin
Is it risky to work at a newly opened hagwon?
« on: November 24, 2018, 06:38:30 AM »
Hi,

So I'm a new teacher and I just got accepted to work at a hagwon in a mid sized city. Since this place is new I am unable to request to speak with a current teacher working there now, as they have only hired foreign teachers recently. I have checked the contract and everything standard is written there, like pension, severance, airfare, tax, housing, salary, hours, vacation and insurance, overtime. For anyone who has worked at a new hagwon, how risky is it if I accept the job? There are also a few things that bother me:

1) The working hours are listed as 7 hours but counting lunch (40 min) and 1 hour of daily lesson planning, etc., total adds up to is 8 hours a day. Is it shady that exact hours are not listed?

2) If it is a new hagwon, will I end up bearing a heavier responsibility for lesson planning, even though director says that they provide books from other programs?

3) There is no location listed on the contract (except 'Korea') OR the level of learners I will be teaching, even though it was discussed

4) It does not list when and how airfare will be reimbursed. Do these details need to be in the contract?

5) Tax rate is listed as 3.3%, at the most basic salary, which makes me worry about them listing me as an independent contractor. Does being a new hagwon have anything to do with this?

I would appreciate the advice. It's my first time teaching abroad and I don't want it to be a nightmare.

Thank you so much!

Online SuperDoodle23

• Super Waygook
Re: Is it risky to work at a newly opened hagwon?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2018, 03:02:59 PM »