June 19, 2018, 05:26:39 AM

Author Topic: Why stay in Korea? Favorite things about Korea.  (Read 15630 times)

Offline travish65742

• Adventurer
Why stay in Korea? Favorite things about Korea.
« on: March 02, 2011, 01:20:21 PM »
I am a relatively new English teacher here in Korea and I love it. I have met people who have taught in Korea for years. My question is, what keeps people from going home? Those of you who have been in Korea for more than one contract period, Why are you still in Korea?

Offline UKsimon

• Veteran
Re: Why stay in Korea? Favorite things about Korea.
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 01:22:32 PM »
Easy life. 

Offline Belzak

• Adventurer
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2011, 01:24:12 PM »
I stay for the kimchi.

portlandzach

« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2011, 01:24:53 PM »
For me, jobs back home are very difficult to find. also, the people, the friendliness, the food...the chill working hours and paid vacations...all this with only an undergrad too....:)

Offline zap451

• Waygookin
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2011, 01:27:20 PM »
I agree with portlandzach. Plus, I have a great school and apartment and live in Seomyeon. Can't beat it.

Offline mr sam teacher

• Veteran
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2011, 01:31:42 PM »
Most of the people who know who have been here more than 2 years are here because either a) they have Korean relatives here or b) they are married to a Korean.  :)

Offline waygookshawn

• Adventurer
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2011, 01:32:40 PM »
Here's what I think of when I contemplate going home:

-Genuinely nice society (not perfect, but genuine)
-No tipping policies
-Good service at bars and restaurants
-Free stuff
-Inexpensive nights out
-Kimchi
-Traveling
-Descent pay
-Surrounded by international people
-Free rent
-Korean girls

What more do you want?

Offline L Waygook

• Adventurer
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2011, 01:33:35 PM »