November 22, 2017, 11:55:48 AM

Author Topic: RANTING/VENTING MEGATHREAD 3.0  (Read 568518 times)

Online Aristocrat

• Expert Waygook
Re: RANTING/VENTING MEGATHREAD 3.0
« Reply #6140 on: June 26, 2017, 01:48:04 PM »
I truly, madly, deeply hate teaching with one of my CTs. She's nice and all, but has 0 control over these older students. In order to get them to calm down, she has to basically beg politely and explain to them why they need to be quiet. Erm, how about they need to be quiet because they are students in a classroom! They don't need a logical reason why this activity requires them to be quiet. It should be common practice that they aren't shouting and talking for the duration of class. That's just basic respect.

This makes it impossible to do the same activities that I have been doing for the last 3 years. Some of the things that I know would hit home runs in other classes end up total disasters this year. Today I cycled through 3 different games trying to find one that a certain class could play because they couldn't complete the other games with their bickering and shouting and yelling out incorrect answers on purpose.

If it were up to me, I'd stop the activities early and just give them lines or something. I would ask the students who keep disrupting the class to leave. However, my CT is so soft that she ends up babying them anytime I try to be tough. At the beginning of the year, I talked to her about their behavior so she started taking the problem students out in the hallway for a talk, but they'd always come back in laughing and joking together. Surprise - those students' behavior never changed. The way she plays good cop/bad cop with me comes off as really mocking.