January 22, 2018, 12:15:04 PM

Author Topic: How do I find a job in America?  (Read 2863 times)

Offline NicoleC

• Adventurer
How do I find a job in America?
« on: April 26, 2011, 06:16:22 PM »
I'm in my second year of teaching with EPIK and I'm considering my plans for next year. 
I've come to realize that I am not a teacher.   It's not something I would like
to pursue or even consider doing, next year.  So I'm thinking of applying to universities and jobs back
home.

I'm also looking into moving to Australia or the USA, to work.  I have a lot of family
in Australia and so that seems to be the better option for me but I can't help but want
to live out my American Dream :D

My problem is that I have no idea where to start.  Does anyone know a good recruiting agency
I could use, any useful websites (I'm already on monster.com), or any advice for me.
By the way I'm a South African and I have a double major in science.  My majors are Biochemistry
and Microbiology.

Ochodnid

Re: How do I find a job in America?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 06:30:12 PM »
What would you like to do exactly?

Offline crawlingkingsnake

• Waygookin
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2011, 06:41:31 PM »
enjoy teaching english.

Offline NicoleC

• Adventurer
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2011, 06:49:17 PM »
something in my field.  I think food or pharmaceutical industry, where I could do quality control or manufacturing. Microbiology Labs, blood testing.  Even industries that manufacture antifungal and antibacterial products like sanitizers or detergents.

Offline jgmenator

• Veteran
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2011, 06:53:28 PM »
Haha, kinda in the same position myself.

I took the job here originally because I had no idea what I wanted to do after college. Graduated in German & Studio Art, but not really passionate about either to move towards a career in it.

On my 4th year here and wondering if I wanna keep doing it...