November 19, 2017, 09:15:30 AM

Author Topic: There's a hanguk.org in your country. What do the Korean ex-pats complain about?  (Read 10435 times)

Offline JNM

• The Legend
People keep mixing the order of my names; I find forms so confusing... Last name, Firstname Middle name... so confusing.

- Park Song Ahn

Offline turningsteel

• Super Waygook
Horri Sheet...

These people don't care about me.
They don't ask:
How old are you?
Where do you work?
How much money you make?
Do you know ________ (insert national dish here)

Horri sheet...
-Their food is TOO spicy! Spicier than Korean food!

-People look at me funny when I spit in public everywhere and anywhere.
-Where can I find ramyeon???

Reallly?? This thread is for light teasing, shoe on the other foot kind of stuff. That's just racist.

Offline Pennypie

• Expert Waygook

2) Why doesn't anyone speak English?

This is misleading. I'm no expert, but I'd think a basic grasp of English (in urban areas) is close to 100% in South Africa.

Rest are all true.

Yes, predominantly understood, but not predominantly spoken, and when spoken it is normally a mix of languages, unless of course you come from a nice privileged white, English area.

So please note I said SPEAK English, but thanks.

I can go up to a random black dude on the streets of Cape Town and have 99% confidence that he speaks passable English. God, everything is English in urban South Africa (road signs, advertisements, menus etc. etc. etc. etc. etc).

Also, jinne. Ja, no well fine we can talk about it now now at the robot, but that oke standing there better voetsek with his papsak.

I'm taking for granted that Koreans won't be spending the majority of their time in Bellville or Hillbrow. Also, I've lived in Durban (21 years), PE (6 years) and Cape Town (5 years) and can safely surmise that I've never worked in an office that wasn't predominantly English.

Then again, my work experience is notoriously scant :-[